Your car breaks down, and your friend offers to let you borrow theirs. You’re driving down the road when a cop pulls you over for missing a red light. As you search through the glove compartment for your friend’s registration, a small bag of weed falls out onto the seat.
You suddenly find yourself arrested for drug possession in Manatee County. What happens next?
Penalties for drug-related crimes in the state of Florida can have a harsh impact on people’s lives. Don’t let the court system decide your fate without the proper defense. The criminal trial attorneys at Flynn Law have experience in handling these types of cases. We know how to protect your rights and look forward to helping you prove your innocence.What are the Penalties of Drug Possession in Florida?
Depending on which type of controlled substance is involved in a person’s arrest, there can be a variety of punishments at stake.
For example, being found with marijuana will typically have a lesser charger than heroin or other opiates.
The amount of drugs and intent of use also plays a role in the severity of their charges.
Here is a general outline of the typical consequences for a misdemeanor or felony drug possession:
First Degree Misdemeanor
For individuals found with up to 20g of marijuana, they are subjected to penalties for a first-degree misdemeanor. These charges usually result in up to one year in jail, plus any court costs.
If a person has four or more prior convictions, they may be facing enhanced penalties.
Third Degree Felony
Men or women found in possession of the following could be facing a third-degree felony charge:
- More than 20g of marijuana
- Up to 28g of cocaine
- Up to 10g MDMA/ecstasy
- Up to 1g LSD
- Up to 4g heroin/opiates
Individuals facing these types of charges can be sentenced up to five years in prison.
Second Degree Felony
If you are found in possession of the chemicals used to produce drugs like methamphetamine, GHB, or ecstasy, you could be facing up to fifteen years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
First Degree Felony
If you are found in possession of the following, you could be charged with a first-degree felony that includes penalties of up to 30 years in prison and up to $250,000 in fines:
- More than 25lbs of marijuana
- More than 28g cocaine
- More than 10g MDMA/ecstasy
- More than 1g LSD
- More than 4g heroin/opiates
As discussed in Florida statute 381.986, the medical use of marijuana is now legal throughout the state of Florida. There are, however, certain limitations.
For an individual to qualify for the use of medical marijuana in Manatee County, they must be suffering from specific illnesses, including:
- Crohn’s Disease
- Parkinson’s Disease
- Multiple Sclerosis
You also cannot purchase more than 2.5 ounces every 35 days and are not permitted to use it in public places. This rule also applies to your workplace. Medical marijuana products can only be used within the confines of your own home.Stand Up to Manatee County Drug Possession Charges
Being charged with drug possession in Florida is no laughing matter. It's essential to hire an experienced Manatee County criminal attorney like the team at Flynn Law.
Why should you sit back and let an incident like this ruin your life? Give our office a call today at 941-800-1140 to set up a free consultation.