On any given day, respectable people are pulled over for minor traffic infractions and end up with a ‘Driving Under the Influence’ charge (DUI.) Like most states, Florida takes these charges seriously.
The Manatee County area attorneys at Flynn Law have experience in criminal law and DUI allegations. We understand what it takes to fight these indictments and win your case against the State Attorney’s office.Understanding Florida Statute 316.193
DUI law in Manatee County is governed by Florida Statute 316.193. It provides an overview of the DUI laws in Florida and says:
(1) A person is guilty of the offense of driving under the influence and is subject to punishment as provided in subsection
(2) if the person is driving or in actual physical control of a vehicle within this state and:
- (a) The person is under the influence of alcoholic beverages, any chemical substance set forth in s. 877.111, or any substance controlled under chapter 893, when affected to the extent that the person’s normal faculties are impaired;
- (b) The person has a blood-alcohol level of 0.08 or more grams of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood; or
- (c) The person has a breath-alcohol level of 0.08 or more grams of alcohol per 210 liters of breath.
The law is slightly different if a commercial driver or minor is pulled over and suspected of illegal drinking.
Commercial vehicle operators need only blow a blood alcohol level of 0.04 to be considered over the legal drinking limit.
For minors, there is a zero-tolerance policy in place.
Any driver under the age of 21 that blows a blood-alcohol level of 0.02 or higher will automatically have their license suspended for six months - Said suspension goes into effect immediately. If the under-age individual blows a blood-alcohol level of 0.05 or higher, their suspension will remain in effect until a substance abuse evaluation, and course, has been completed.What are the DUI Penalties in Florida?
Manatee County DUI lawyers will be able to educate you on the ways that DUI penalties can vary under Florida law. Depending on specific factors in your arrest, you could be looking at a variety of consequences.
Here are the fundamental laws concerning DUI penalties as provided by Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles:First Offense
- A fine of no less than $500
- Up to six months in jail
- Suspension of driver’s license up to six months
- Completion of DUI school and a victim impact panel
- 12 months probation (subject to early term)
- A fine of no less than $1,000
- Up to nine months in jail
- Suspension of driver’s license up to five years (if the second offense is within five years of the first)
- A fine of no less than $2,000
- Mandatory 30 days imprisonment
- Suspension of driver’s license up to ten years
- Completion of DUI school and DUI supervision program throughout the suspension period
DUI charges are serious offenses that can have damaging effects. It’s crucial that all drivers understand the costs of drinking and driving before they get behind the wheel.
Looking over a BAC Chart is an excellent way of recognizing just how few drinks it can take to put yourself over the legal limit. In the unfortunate event, however, that you are charged with a DUI in Manatee County, our attorneys at Flynn Law are waiting to help you out.
If you have any questions, why not set up a FREE CONSULTATION by calling 941-800-1140 today.