DUI on a Golf Cart or Bicycle
So, you’re vacationing on Anna Maria Island and decide it would be fun to explore the island on a bicycle or golf cart. You rent them from a local shop and your first stop is for lunch and a few beers at a local restaurant.
Two hours and three beers later, you’re heading down Pine Avenue. Suddenly, a cop pulls you over for a minor traffic infraction. When he gets to you, he can smell the beer on your breath.
Think you can’t get a DUI on a golf cart or bicycle – think again.
If you're facing charges from a DUI during your vacation, you need a top-notch Manatee County criminal attorney to help defend your case. That’s where the DUI lawyers at Flynn Law come in.
We've been serving the residents of Bradenton, Sarasota, Anna Maria Island, Palmetto, and St. Petersburg for years. We've got the knowledge and grit needed to fight against your charges and give you the best defense possible.DUI’s Aren’t Just for Motor Vehicles
In Florida statute 316.193, driving under the influence is defined as:
“(1)A person is guilty of the offense of driving under the influence and is subject to punishment as provided in subsection (2) if the person is driving or in actual physical control of a vehicle within this state…”
Notice that the word “motor” is not found within this definition.
Many individuals mistakenly think they’re safe from DUI charges if they’re only driving a golf cart or bicycle. Manatee County DUI Attorneys will tell you, however, that this isn’t the case. When a person is operating any vehicle, they are held responsible for safe driving practices and must abide by Florida driving laws.What are the Penalties for a Golf Cart or Bicycle DUI?
You may also believe that when you're facing charges for a DUI on a golf cart or bicycle, the penalties won't be as severe – wrong again.
While different factors will determine the severity of your sentence, the punishments for DUI’s are the same no matter what type of vehicle you’re operating. If you are pulled over on a golf cart or bicycle and are found to have a blood alcohol level of.08 or higher, these are the penalties you could be facing:
- Possible jail time
- 12 months’ probation
- $500 fine
- DUI school
- Victim Impact Panel
- 6 months’ driver’s license suspension
- 50 hours’ community service
When you're trying to enjoy a beach vacation and end up with a DUI charge, the results can be devastating.
Florida upholds strict laws and punishments for individuals caught driving under the influence. These cases are complicated and overwhelming – there’s no need to fight them on your own.
The experienced DUI trial attorneys at Flynn Law have the skills needed to defend your case effectively. We have what it takes to put your mind at ease and allow you to focus on your normal day-to-day life.
Don’t let a few beers on the beach tarnish your record – give us a call today at 941-800-1140 to set up a FREE CONSULTATION with our team.