DUI with Marijuana

DUI MarijuanaWhen most people think of the term ‘DUI,’ they usually associate it with alcohol.

Studies often discuss blood alcohol content levels and the number of drinks a driver can safely have before getting behind the wheel. But is there more to these criminal charges?

Despite what you may think, driving under the influence of marijuana can be just as harmful – and just as illegal.

If you’re facing charges for a DUI with weed, please give the Manatee County DUI attorneys at Flynn Law a call. We’re experienced in handling cases just like this in the Sarasota, Bradenton, Palmetto, Ellenton, and St. Petersburg areas.

DUI penalties can be devastating. Take advantage of the opportunity to defend yourself before it’s too late.

Medical Marijuana Use in Florida

When you’re pulled over with marijuana in Florida, it’s not just the DUI you need to be concerned about. Illegal possession is a significant offense and can lead to much more severe penalties.

Only individuals suffering from diseases like Cancer, Parkinson’s, or Glaucoma have the legal right to be carrying marijuana. And even for these individuals, the drug can’t be used in public – only within personal residences.

What are the Penalties of Drugged Driving in Manatee County?

If you’re facing a conviction for a DUI with marijuana in Florida, the punishment can vary. Your sentence is dependent on how many times you’ve been charged in the past.

The average penalties are as follows:

1st Offense

  • Up to a $1,000 fine
  • Up to 6 months in jail
  • Suspended license for 6-12 months
  • 50 hours of public service
  • Victim impact panel

2nd Offense

  • Up to a $2,000 fine
  • Up to 9 months in jail
  • Suspended license for 5 years
  • 50 hours of public service
  • Possible criminal probation and psychological evaluation

3rd Offense

  • Up to $2,000 fine
  • Up to 1-year in prison
  • 50 hours of public service
  • Criminal probation
  • Psychological evaluation

Anything after your first offense may require the installation of an ignition interlock device, as well.

Do You Need a Manatee County DUI Attorney?

Men and women facing charges for drugged driving often think they can handle their case alone.

While this is technically true, it’s certainly not advised. By hiring a manatee county DUI attorney, you will have the best chance at successfully defending your case and proving your innocence.

The team at Flynn Law has years of experience successfully trying DUI cases just like yours. Let us help you protect your rights to a fair trial and win back your freedom.

If you’re ready to get started, set up an appointment for a free consultation by calling 941-800-1140 today.

Client Reviews
I was referred to Sean Flynn (Flynn Law) by a neighbor/friend. Mr. Flynn had helped his family out with an issue in the past, so I called Mr. Flynn to get help on a legal matter. I drove to his office to meet with him and he solved my problem on the same day... Joey D.