DUI With Property Damage
Often, the term ‘driving under the influence’ (DUI) is used as a blanket statement to cover all instances of drunk driving.
In the legal world, however, the factors involved, and the damage incurred can yield very different results in terms of penalties.
When you’re charged with a DUI that included property damage, you need a Manatee County criminal attorney that knows how to protect your rights.
Our team of lawyers at Flynn Law have vast experience in DUI cases and know just what it takes to fight against the State Attorney’s Office. If you’re found guilty of a DUI with property damage, don’t waste time mulling over your options.
It’s crucial that you get in touch with a DUI lawyer immediately so they can start working your case.How is a DUI With Property Damage Defined?
Based on Florida statute 316.193, a DUI with property damage is when a person:
- Drives a vehicle, or is found to be in actual physical control of a vehicle, within the state of Florida;
- And the person is either:
- a. Under the influence of alcoholic beverages or any chemical or controlled substance, when affected to the extent that the person’s normal faculties are impaired; or
- b. Has a breath-alcohol level of 0.08 or higher; or
- c. Has a blood-alcohol level of 0.08 or higher.
- And causes damage, directly or indirectly, to the property of another person.
As a DUI with property damage is considered an enhanced charge, the potential penalties are far greater than those of a ‘regular DUI.’ Here is a list of the resulting penalties:
- Up to one year in jail
- License suspension for six to 12 months
- Up to $1,000 in fines
- DUI Program with a possible victim impact panel
- 10-day vehicle impoundment
- 50 hours of public service
The penalties mentioned above are based on a blood or breath alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or higher. In the event, that you’re found to have a BAC of .15 or higher the aggressiveness of the penalties will, more than likely, go up.Protect Your Rights With an Experienced Florida DUI Lawyer
Just because you’re charged with a DUI, that doesn’t mean you’re out of options.
By hiring an experienced Manatee County DUI attorney, you will have a better chance of coming away with a lesser sentence. Our team at Flynn Law has first-hand knowledge in the ways that the State Attorney’s Office handles these types of cases. We’re able to use that information to create an effective defense to help protect your rights.
Don’t waste another moment. When the cops are working to build a case against you, it’s imperative that you hire an attorney to work on your behalf as soon as possible.
Give our office a call at 941-800-1140 to set up a free consultation and figure out what your next best steps are.