FAQ’s About DUI Laws
When a man or woman is accused of a DUI in Manatee County, the process can seem overwhelming.
At Flynn Law of Bradenton, we have a team of lawyers experienced in winning DUI, Personal Injury, and Criminal cases throughout Florida. We’ve seen a wide variety of DUI suits come through and notice that everyone tends to have the same questions.
To help you better understand the process, we’ve compiled a group of the most frequently asked questions by individuals facing DUI charges.
- When are You Charged with a DUI?
- What are Cops Looking for During DUI Investigations in Manatee County?
- What is the Florida ‘Implied Consent Law?’
- What are the Penalties of a DUI in Florida?
- Do I Have to Hire a Manatee County DUI Lawyer?
If a police officer has probable cause to pull your car over and suspects you’ve been drinking, they may ask you to consent to field sobriety exercises and a breathalyzer test. If you blow a .08 or higher breath alcohol level (BAC), you will face DUI charges.
After a Manatee County police officer has pulled you over, usually, for moving violations such as speeding or reckless driving, they will look for signs of intoxication, such as:
- Poor Motor Skills
- Slurred Speech
- Flushed Face
- Bloodshot Eyes
- Odors from Alcohol
Based on Florida Statute 316.1932, as a privilege of having a Florida driver’s license, you are also obliged to consent to any tests for alcohol, chemical substances, or controlled substances. While you have the legal right to refuse field sobriety exercises, declining a blood or breath alcohol test will result in an automatic one-year license suspension.
If this is your first DUI charge, you will be susceptible to penalties, including:
- Fines between $500 and $1,000
- Up to six months in jail
- 50 hours of community services
If your BAC is .15 or higher, you may be facing more severe consequences.
The short answer is no.
You don’t HAVE to hire a Manatee County criminal defense attorney to help with your case, but we HIGHLY recommend it.
DUI proceedings can be overwhelming and confusing. An experienced Florida DUI attorney will have the knowledge needed to plead your case best. Their skills will ensure you have the greatest chance of getting the least conviction and penalties possible.
At Flynn Law, we believe in getting you the best possible outcome following a DUI charge. After all, if you face a conviction of this crime, it’s effects can be devastating.
Give us a call today at 941-800-1140 for a free consultation where we’ll go over your case and decide on the right plan of defense.